Adding fittings to make a folding wing

For the technical discussion of aircraft design to include engineering practices, design techniques, questions, and recommendations.

Digicorinc

Adding fittings to make a folding wing

Post by Digicorinc »

Do any of you guys have specific plans, pictures, diagrams, instrucions or other ideas to help me to add folding fittings or otherwise hinged apparatus to a tube and fabric plane (Buttercup) in order to make the wings fold for storing and trailoring?  I figure if the military did it on many large planes for storage on an aircraft carrier, then it should be simple to do it on a relatively liteweight two seat sport plane.  I am not an engineer, so I hope some of you that are can give me proven techniques to accomplish this without sacrificing strength of course.  If nothing else, some ideas that get me thinking in the right direction would be a help.
trackwelder
Forum Regular

Re: Adding fittings to make a folding wing

Post by trackwelder »